Note: The Manage > Website > Users page is available to users with System manager or Admin permissions only.
When first viewing the Manage > Website > Users tab, permitted users are greeted with the ability to Show all users or Search based upon different parameters. The ability to add users and manage mobile groups can also be seen upon first visiting the page. You can sort the table alphabetically by clicking on any of the underlined column headings. This is useful if, for example, you wish to sort users by last name or email.
- Show all: Shows every web user in the account by creating an individual row for each user. You can see each user's basic information here and their web groups/restrictions.
- Search: Allows an admin user to search for a user based upon different parameters.
- Telephone: Searches for a user based upon the number attached to their license.
- Last name: Searches for a user based upon the last name on their license.
- Web group: Searches for users based upon which web group they are in.
- Email: Searches for a user based upon the email address attached to their license.
- Available: The number of licenses that have been purchased but have not been assigned to a web user or a mobile user.
- Privileges: Displays the general privileges of a user. These are Admin, New & Edit or Read only.
- Email: This is the email attached to the user. This email is used to login and can be used as a variable within forms.
- Last name: Displays the last name on each web license.
- First name: Displays the first name on each web license.
- Telephone: Displays the phone # on each web license.
- Added: Provides the date in which each web license was created. This date is set when a web user's information has been entered, not when the license is purchased.
- Last login: Displays the date of the last login using this web license.
- Web group: Identifies which web group each web license is in.
- View restrictions: Outlines each web license's view data restrictions. View restrictions restrict users to only see forms submitted by certain mobile groups, mobile numbers or projects. If no view restrictions are applied, the user can see all form submissions.
Adding a new web user to your account can be done in two different ways:
- Add user: Clicking the Add user button at the top left of the screen will provide a pop-up window detailing what information the license needs in order to be active. Required fields are identified by a red asterisk.
- Show all > Edit: Alternatively, you can click the Show all button at the top, then hover over an empty row's Action button on the left. Click edit and you will see the same pop-up as if you clicked add user.
Individual user roles can be changed by hovering over a user's Action column and clicking Edit. Below is a list of what each role gives a user access to:
- Dispatcher: Allows a user to send dispatches to mobile users in the field.
- Dispatch scheduler: Allows a user to schedule dispatches using the dispatch calendar to send to users in the field.
- Dispatch to email: Adds the ability for a user to dispatch to email, this is distinct due to this feature costing credits.
- Data manager: Allows a user to view both View data and View activity, but does not allow the ability to create or delete records. A New & Edit or Admin privilege is required to create or delete records.
- Fill & send: Allows the creation of Fill & send records in View data.
- Form links: Adds the ability for to view and send form links, this is distinct due to this feature costing credits.
- Allow delete: Adds the ability to delete records in View data, also gives access to the "File" menu within View data.
- Allow lookup management: Adds the ability to delete and create lookup tables.
- Form builder: Allows a user to build and edit forms.
- See all forms: Allows a user to see every form in the account (minus restricted projects).
- See my forms: Restricts a user to only the forms they have built.
- Report builder: Allows a user to build reports.
- System manager: Allows a user access to the Manage tab, where they can see and change web users, projects, forms and other system settings.
- Allow delete: Adds the user to delete forms, projects and users.
- Account manager: Allows a user access to view and change options in the My account tab, such as amount of licenses and contact details.
- View abandoned data: Adds the ability for a web user to see data from deleted and inactive forms. This also extends to forms that have been removed from projects.
- View encrypted data: Adds the ability for a web user to see what is contained within encrypted fields.
Note: A user will not be allowed to add or delete anything if their privilege is set to Read only.
Allows an admin or system manager user to determine where a web user will start when opening the website.
- Tab: Determines which tab a web user will start in.
- Project: Determines which project will be auto-selected when using Dispatch or View data.
- Form: Determines which form will be auto-selected when using Dispatch or View data.
- View mode: Determines the view permission a web user has in View data.
- View: Allows a web user to view entire submissions as well as their record name.
- Record Name: Restricts a web user to only seeing record names in view data.
Web group: Web groups are used to separate users for ease of access, and possibly security concerns. The most common use is for larger companies that have many divisions i.e. Northeast, Southeast, West, etc. These three divisions can be made into individual web groups and using the restrict by features correctly, the three groups would not be able to see each other's submitted data. This also extends to not being able to edit a different group's users even if you have permission for your own. Web groups can be created within the Edit or Add user pop-up window by clicking the Manage button next to the Web group dropdown.
- Time zone: Determines a web user's time zone for displaying dates and times. This setting will override the account's time zone settings and is useful if the user is not in your primary time zone.
Dispatch scheduler: Determines what forms a web user has access to send from Dispatch or Dispatch scheduler. If no forms are checked, all forms can be sent as dispatches. You can also select a default dispatch project and form from this section for ease of access.
- User variables: User variables are user specific pre-determined values that can be used in forms. User variables are thoroughly explained here.
You can control “who sees what” in the View data tab by setting the Restrict by options. These options allow you to restrict the viewing of records to those submitted by a specific device Mobile number, or any device assigned to a Mobile group. You can specify multiple Mobile numbers by separating them with commas.
In addition to controlling the View data and Dispatch access by Mobile group and Mobile number, we have added the ability to control access by Project. This means that the user will have access only to the forms in the selected projects. If no projects are selected, the user has access to all projects.